MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall Portsmouth on Tuesday, 16 May 2017 at 10.00 am

#### **Council Members Present**

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor David Fuller (in the Chair)

#### Councillors

Dave Ashmore Lee Mason Simon Bosher Stephen Morgan Gemma New Jennie Brent Robert New Ryan Brent Yahiya Chowdhury Steve Pitt Alicia Denny **Stuart Potter** Ben Dowling Will Purvis Ken Ellcome **Darren Sanders** John Ferrett Lynne Stagg Colin Galloway Luke Stubbs Paul Godier Julie Bird Scott Harris Linda Symes **David Tompkins** Steve Hastings Hannah Hockaday Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE

Suzy Horton Steve Wemyss Frank Jonas Matthew Winnington

Neill Young Donna Jones lan Lyon Rob Wood Leo Madden Tom Wood

The Lord Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting.

### 25. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

It was

Proposed by Councillor Donna Jones Seconded by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson

That a vote of thanks be given to the retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress.

### It was RESOLVED unanimously

That the Council places on record its sincere thanks to Councillor David Fuller and Mrs Leza Tremorin for their outstanding service to the City as Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress during their year of office.

That the Council expresses its great appreciation of the fine qualities which Councillor David Fuller has brought to the conduct of the business of this Council, his devotion to duty, and the distinction and

### 2 16 May 2017

goodwill with which he carried out the many and various duties of the office of Lord Mayor.

That the Council also places on record its gratitude to Mrs Leza Tremorin who also gave her untiring support and help as Lady Mayoress to the Lord Mayor.

That this resolution be engrossed and be presented to Councillor David Fuller and Mrs Leza Tremorin at this ceremony

The retiring Lord Mayor was presented with the Council's gift of an engrossed scroll which signifies the Council's appreciation of his time in office.

# 26. Election of the Lord Mayor for the Ensuing Municipal Year

Councillor Simon Bosher nominated Councillor Ken Ellcome for election to the office of Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. The nomination was seconded by Councillor Donna Jones.

There being no other nominations, the Lord Mayor put the proposal which was CARRIED unanimously and he declared Councillor Ken Elicome duly elected Lord Mayor.

Councillor Ken Ellcome then left the chamber with the retiring Lord Mayor to don the Lord Mayor's robes and the chain of office.

# 27. New Lord Mayor takes the Chair

Councillor Ken Ellcome took the chair and thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office witnessed by the Deputy City Solicitor.

## 28. Investiture of the new Lady Mayoress

Mrs Leza Tremorin, the retiring Lady Mayoress, invested Mrs Jo Ellcome, the new Lady Mayoress with the chain of office, after which the new Lady Mayoress signed a document of office witnessed by the Deputy City Solicitor.

#### 29. Presentation of the Keys of the City

The Lord Mayor received the Keys of the Fortress of Portsmouth presented to him by Major Robert Mather.

### 30. Presentation of the Portsmouth Sword

The Lord Mayor received the Portsmouth Sword presented to him by Sub-Lieutenant Jason Slattery.

### 31. The Lord Mayor returns thanks to the Council

The Lord Mayor took this opportunity to thank members of the Council for his election and gave a short speech.

16 May 2017

# 32. Appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year

Councillor Donna Jones nominated Councillor Lee Mason as the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. This nomination was seconded by Councillor Hannah Hockaday.

There being no other nominations, the Lord Mayor put the proposal, which was CARRIED unanimously and he declared Councillor Lee Mason duly elected as the Deputy Lord Mayor and he made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. This was witnessed by the Deputy City Solicitor. The Chief Executive said that Councillor Lee Mason would be supported by his Deputy Lady Mayoress, Mrs Sylvia Mason. The Deputy Lady Mayoress then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. This was witnessed by the Deputy City Solicitor.

## 33. Appointment of Chaplain to the City Council

The Dean of Portsmouth, the Very Reverend David Brindley was appointed as Chaplain to the City Council.

### 34. Appointment of the New Lord Mayor Cadets

To support the Lord Mayor in his year in office, a team of cadets will be on hand. The Lord Mayor wished to show his appreciation by presenting each of them with a certificate.

The following cadets received their certificates at the meeting:-

- Corporal Jack Metcalfe, Air Training Corps
- Finley Bacon, Combined Cadet Force
- Ordinary Cadet Ashleigh Kendell, Sea Cadet Corps
- Able Cadet Joshua Collett, Sea Cadet Corps
- Georgina James, St John Ambulance
- Bryony Rawcliffe, Volunteer Police Cadets
- Lucie-May Gudgeon, Volunteer Police Cadets

The Lord Mayor advised that Sergeant Joshua Reynolds, Hampshire and Isle of Wight Army Cadet Force and Cadet Warrant Officer 2 Charlie Roberts, Royal Marine Voluntary Cadet Corps were unable to attend today and would each be presented with a certificate by the Lord Mayor at a later date.

#### 35. Presentation of Civic Awards

A representative from the cadets brought forward the civic award badges for presentation. The Lord Mayor presented civic awards to members of the community who had been nominated for their outstanding contribution to the life of the city. The awards were presented to The Tom Prince Trust, Charles Burns and jointly to Shelagh Strange, Constance Turner, Kay Bosher and David Underhay.

# 36. Young Person's Civic Award

A representative from the cadets brought forward the young person's civic award. This year the winner was Mr Keiran O'Toole who collected his award.

The meeting adjourned at 12.45pm, to be reconvened no earlier than 2.30 pm.

_ord Mayor		